Habitat for Humanity - News
  • Home
  • News
  • 2021 Virtual Volunteer Awards Ceremony
large group of volunteers

2021 Virtual Volunteer Awards Ceremony

Hand holding a house and keys

This year marks the 28th year of Habitat Niagara and despite the rollercoaster year we have had with the global pandemic, we have a lot to celebrate!

A message from Habitat Niagara CEO, Mark Carl:

Our volunteers have really rose to the occasion and really helped us this year. I want to commend all the volunteers who have been able to help us this year – we have been able to serve families again and have had two families move into their homes.

I think about all of the families we served who speak about their children how their grades are better, and the family is healthier, they also have stability and a sense of security. Our volunteers have helped to make the lives of families across our community better.

It doesn’t matter what you do to volunteer with Habitat Niagara, we could not serve families, and help families with affordable homeownership if it weren’t for you. None of this would be possible without our volunteers.

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts.


Watch virtual volunteer awards ceremony.

Congratulations to the following volunteers!

Years of Service

10 Years

Andrew Ware

5 Years

Ryan Doherty
Aneta Fleming
June Gibbs
Doug Grimstead
Cindy Loforti Lepp
George Moreau
Rebecca Schermel
Mike Schofield

Spirit Award recipients

Barry Birrell  - Construction Champion
Bruce Krushelnicki  - Kitchen Salvage Superstar
Melodie Guy - Merchandising Marvel, Fonthill ReStore
Cody Caughill  - ReStore Rockstar, Fonthill ReStore
Chrris Malkiewich -  Warehouse Warrior, Fonthill ReStore
David Learn – Warehouse Specialist Superstar, Fonthill ReStore
Vicki-Lynn Smith  - Merchandising Marvel, St. Catharines ReStore
David Bannon  - ReStore Rockstar, St. Catharines ReStore
James Bell – Warehouse Warrior, St. Catharines ReStore
Syl Gerritsma – Warehouse Specialist Superstar, St. Catharines ReStore
Charmaine Morrison  - Merchandising Marvel, Grimsby ReStore
Dave Drew  - ReStore Rockstar, Grimsby ReStore
George Yakowenko - Warehouse Warrior, Grimsby ReStore
Peter Fedyczko – Warehouse Specialist Superstar, Grimsby ReStore

High School Co-op Teacher Champions

Zach Silverthorne – Grimsby Secondary School
Ryan Defoe – Notre Dame College School
Darren White – St. Catharines Collegiate